Ubiquitous Academicians

The Academician Lives!

with one comment

Well, one of us at least.

Don’t let me fool you – Nick is still alive and kicking; he merely has followed his all-too-normal procedure for blogging: Don’t. Oh well. At least I’m still here, even though I’ve been absent.

A few news items on my “home front:” I purchased a new laptop! Toshiba Satellite A215 – very nice. I’m extremely pleased, not only because I can surf the web anywhere I want, but because I can write almost constantly, whether it is here or in my word processor, with a goal of publishing something.
Anyways, I’ve been customizing it over the past couple of days, and downloading useful tools.
Let it be said here and now: When it comes to computers, I’m no minimalist. Here’s a short list of things I’ve added so far. It’s short, but with time it will grow.

StumbleUpon (http://www.stumbleupon.com/) – It’s a great little toolbar that allows you to – in addition to being a social network of sorts – list some interests, and then see what others with similar likes and dislikes have found, and rated. All with the click of a button.
I’m very pleased, and have already discovered several interesting new websites and blogs.

Mozilla Firefox (http://www.mozilla.org/) Duh! Only the best browser out there! Not much else to say, except that it brings me lots of other useful gadgets, such as:

Mozilla ScribeFire (http://www.mozilla.org/) Which is what I’m using now. Basically, it is a blogging tool that stores your blog(s) information, and, with the click of a button, has you typing away at your next post. This post, in fact, is my main test. Synopsis: Very nice.

That’s all for now, other than my IM systems. I’m off to check out Skype – but I’ll write again soon!

Faithfully to my readers,

Written by Ethan

April 2, 2008 at 12:26 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Skype is a lot of fun, I’d recommend it.

    On a sadder note, Zealous Couch Potatoes seems to be dead, on account of my inability to convince Mike to post. I’m probably going to open up a new personal blog, unless you all would continue signing on another academician?


Leave a Reply

