Ubiquitous Academicians

Life, Death and Emotional Extremes

with 3 comments

Well, I had a very enjoyable weekend. I hosted several fun events, and was cheered and congratulated almost constantly. I even had a hall full of people stand and cheer when I showed up. To top it off, I was quoted prominently in the local newspaper.

Needless to say, my ego was about as puffed up as it could possibly be.

 

When I got home, I had a letdown like never before.

 

Did you ever feel like everything is perfect, and things couldn’t be better? It seems like life operates in extremes – it goes your way, builds you up, makes you feel good – then you get dropped.

 

My great-grandfather passed away this afternoon.

 

He was 96 years old, living in a retirement home. His health was deteriorating, especially mentally. Many consider it a blessing for him, to finally be released. After all, he led a wonderful life, with many friends and relatives.

Anyways, this has me thinking quite a bit about death. While I know everyone tends to do this when they lose someone close, I figured I’d write what I’ve mulled over so far.

Basically, what happens when we die? Obviously, our body gets incinerated, or decays in the ground. But what about our “spirit”, our mind – our “essence”? Where does it go? Do we just dissipate?

Anyways, my head is whirring with all this emotional matter. I’m going to stop writing now – I have relatives to console.

Written by Ethan

February 25, 2008 at 11:01 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Though we do not typically comment on each other’s entries, I’d just like to say sorry about your loss again. Perhaps I’ll attempt to construct a responding post some point later on.

    Nicholas

    February 25, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  2. So sorry, no matter how old and sick our relatives may be, we always feel a terrible loss when they pass away.

    Indigo Eyebrow

    February 26, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  3. First of all, congratulations on your trip…I hope you will share the newspaper quote with us.

    Secondly, I am sorry to hear about your Great Grandfather. My Grandmother will be 101 in June is starting to live more in her past..a time filled with places, people, and things far before our existence. I have my thoughts on why that happens as I have seen it many numerous times when someone is nearing death.

    Your questions are some that I think about a lot. The only thing I know for certain is energy does not dissipate. I am no longer a religious person, but I have seen things that are not of this dimension…and I think that was energies.

    Alas, this is a complicated and sensitive subject so I will say no more. Now you probably think I am insane…just blame on my being an artist (which at times is very similar to insanity). 🙂

    Please don’t hate me for spelling and grammar errors…I warned you I am not a writer.

    gypsy-heart

    February 26, 2008 at 4:34 pm


Leave a Reply

