Ubiquitous Academicians

On a Dream

with 2 comments

I tend to dismiss those who attempt to interpret dreams. It seems that such people, for the most part, are too mystical, lacking in scientific application. They are often more akin to those who work with horoscopes. Because of this, I seldom dwell much on the contents of my dreams. I move on and forget them. However, I was witness to a somewhat interesting dream the previous night, one that I thought might be worth sharing for its clear message and interesting application of life experiences.

It began, like many a thing within the confines of my life, with a computer. Well, it didn’t actually involve any physical piece of electronic equipment, but one of the most frequently used computing processes was involved: Ctrl+Z. You see, in this dream, I found that I was able to make use of the Ctrl+Z process at will, using it to rewind my physical environment to prior positions.

Depending on the extensiveness of your computer use, you may or may not know that there is usually a limit to the number of times one can go about “Ctrl-Zing” in a program. In the dream, this problem plagued me many times.

Throughout the course of my dream, I accidentally ruined or destroyed numerous things within my environment (specifics fail to come to mind, though I vaguely remember a boat and a tractor) and would attempt to repair them by stepping back with Ctrl-Z, but I would never have an adequate number of them.

What fascinated me the most was the degree to which a computer process that I frequently use was worked into the dream. The only other time I witnessed a similar dream was after that Knights of Republic marathon, when I had a dream that made use of the interface…

Anyways, that’s another story for another time. I’ve probably effectively proved my lack of mental stability by this point, so I shall be off.

Your writer,

Written by Nicholas

February 23, 2008 at 8:23 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your writing style too!

    As for dream interperations…l learned a while back to never dismiss anything or anyone. 🙂

    Mental instability is okay with me too…some of the greatest gifts of literature, art, music etc were the result of such a state. At least that is what I keep telling myself to justify my state of mind..and that all will be okay.

    I’ll be back to visit.

    gypsy-heart

    February 23, 2008 at 9:16 am

  2. I completely changed my opinion on horoscopes and dreams (I’m an astronomer and I’ve always hated horoscopes as you can well imagine). As a man of science, I always stuck to the facts, but now I think that, after all, both horoscopes and dreams can tell us something. They’re projections and therefore an interesting subject of interpretation(obviously they can be interpreted not to know the future, but in order to understand ourselves a bit more).

    Indigo Eyebrow

    February 23, 2008 at 9:37 am


Leave a Reply

